England - Greater London


Greater London is one of England’s nine official regions. However, it is run and administered slightly differently from the other eight. This region includes:

• The City of London
• Middle Temple
• Inner Temple
• The 32 London boroughs (including the City of Westminster)

Greater London is economically, infrastructurally and industrially advanced on a national and international level.

London is made up of the City of London and Greater London, the latter representing a far greater area than the former. This epicentre has, for centuries, played a major role in the governing and developing of England as a whole. As London City grew, it began to absorb surrounding settlements. This made the administration complicated, enforcing the need to amalgamate all of the smaller areas into one major region. The creation of the Greater London administrative area occurred in 1965 (although that name had been used for years prior to this).


Image of early morning view of City Hall & Tower Bridge, London, UK.
Early morning view of City Hall & Tower Bridge, London, UK.

Originally, Greater London was governed by the Greater London Council (GLC) and the City of London Corporation, as well as the smaller councils of each of the 32 boroughs. In 1994, the regions of England were formalised. Four years later, a referendum gave the public the opportunity to express their need for a regional authority. This led to the creation and implementation of the Greater London Authority, London Assembly and the Mayor of London.

The Greater London region (comprising 32 London boroughs) is surrounded by the following counties:

• Essex (East of England)
• Hertfordshire (East of England)
• Buckinghamshire (South East England)
• Berkshire (South East England)
• Surrey (South East England)
• Kent (South East England)

Greater London has a Lord Lieutenant over its entire region, with the exception of the City of London. This area is called a county for administrative and organisational purposes. The City of London is actually a very small part of the entire region. Each of the boroughs has a regional government that takes care of local matters. All the borough councils belong to the main body, the London Councils’ Association. Kingston and Kensington and Chelsea are the only two Royal Boroughs in the region.

In terms of Parliament, London has 74 Parliamentary Constituencies. Each borough will have two or three such constituencies.

Greater London is the epicentre of the country. For this reason, people from all over the world make their way here to make a new life for themselves. This has led to an extremely diverse demographic profile. There are high proportions of people from Bangladesh, India, the Republic of Ireland, Jamaica, South Africa and Nigeria.

As testimony to London’s desirability as a home city, it has a density of about 5000 people per square kilometre, which far exceeds that of any other region in the country (and many urban areas of the world). Although London City is one of the most expensive cities in the world, it remains one of the most popular in which to live and work.

For more information,please view: http://www.london.gov.uk/