Regal Assets Banner

Major Mountains Of England

While England is a relatively flat country, it certainly is not devoid of impressive mountains and many rolling hill plains. These create a gorgeous topography and a natural allure to the jade-coloured countryside of this land.

The Pennines
The Pennines Mountain Range is one of the most significant of its kind in the country. It is aged at over 300 million years old, making it the oldest group of mountains too. The entire low-lying range, situated in Northern England and Southern Scotland, measures over 400 kilometres or 250 miles in length. They extend from Derbyshire (in the Peak District) to the Cheviot Hills on the border between England and Scotland. The formal definition of the Pennines does not include the Cheviot Hills but, since the Pennine Way passes through the hills several times, they are considered by many to be a part of the range.




The Pennines are home to three national parks, which are all fabulous tourist hotspots. These are the Yorkshire Dales, Northumberland, and the Peak District.

The Pennine Mountain Range plays an integral role as a water catchment area and, therefore, boasts serval reservoirs, including Kielder Water and Ladybower Reservoir. These are situated in the main valleys of the range. The abundance of water features, rocky crags and glorious greenery has made the Pennines some of the most awe-inspiring sights in the country.

Some parts of the range are characterised by exposed limestone, which has led to an extensive variation of caves and rivers due to its lower resistance against erosion. The caves are some of the biggest in all of England. The erosion of the limestone has also created impressive rock formations, delighting spectators.

The peaks of the Pennines are relatively low, often referred to as fells, rather than mountains. These include the fells of Mickle, Ingleborough, Whernside and High Seat. There are also various dales, such as Airedale, Dovedale, Ribblesdale and Wensleydale.

Being relatively sparsely populated, the Pennines are sustained by the industries of tourism, sheep farming and quarrying.

Scafell Pike

This is the highest fell, defined as a barren or stony hill. It is located in Cumbria and is 978 metres or 3 209 feet above sea level. It is a popular attraction and is situated in the equally popular Lake District National Park.

Scafell Pike forms one fell out of several, which are placed in a horseshoe formation. It is flanked by Sca Fell and Great End. Its official start is at Mickledore and its end at Broad Crag Col. However, there are more inclusive definitions of its full extent. Scafell Pike boasts the highest standing body of water in the country, Broad Crag Tarn, which lies at approximately 820 metres or 2 700 feet above sea level.

Helvellyn Mountain
This mountain is situated in England’s Lake District and is the third highest peak in England. Its name means .yellow moor. and it is an impressive 950 metres or 3 117 feet above sea level. Its highest point occurs between the Thirlmere Valley and Patterdale. Its eastern side is dramatic in terms of its geographical make-up, intriguing geologists and tourists alike. Its western side is covered partly by gorgeous forests.

The summit of Helvellyn is a 500 metre-long plateau. The views from here are breath-taking, luring many hikers to brave its heights just to see the spectacular vistas below.